Skip to content

Roane Chamber Business Awards Announced

Roane Chamber Honors Top Leaders & Professionals at 69th Annual Awards Banquet
ROANE COUNTY, TN – On Friday night the Roane Chamber honored some of its best during the 69th Annual Awards Banquet. 

Dr. Chris Whaley, received the Distinguished Service Award; Teresa Duncan was named Woman of the Year; Browder's Ace Hardware owners Teresa and Brad Taylor were honored as Business of the Year; Kim Nelson received the Paul E. Goldberg Young Professional Award; and Stephanie Ferguson was named Ambassador of the Year.
Outgoing Chamber Board member Chris Ahler, Visionary Horizons Wealth Management, was also honored for his service to the Chamber.  Board Chair Gail Lyke, First Bank of Tennessee in Rockwood, presented Ahler a plaque.

“With the [new] opportunities we have ahead of us success as a community is well within our grasp, but only if we do it together,” said Chamber President Wade Creswell, The Roane Alliance, to one of the largest crowds in years, adding “it must be put into practice every day…think of ways that you can help our communities work together so that we all win.”
Chamber Director Paulette Ray presented the Ambassador of the Year award to Stephanie Ferguson “for all of her hard work and service to the Chamber.”

Chris Ahler, a previous Young Professional nominee, presented that award to Kim Nelson, the first female winner of this award, for being "community minded and for her continual interest in improving the criminal justice system."  Nelson fits the requirement of being under 40 to win this award, while being elected to three public offices in that time: Roane County Board of Education, Roane County Circuit Court Clerk and presently as Public Defender for the 9th Judicial District.

In presenting the Business of the Year award to Browder's Ace Hardware, Kathy Parks, The Bridge at Rockwood, recognized the business as "one of the oldest in Roane County, adapting and thriving in the face of competition because of the unparalleled quality of customer service they provide."
Danice Turpin, Tennessee College of Applied Technology, presented Teresa Duncan from Roane State the Woman of the Year award, for being a "true leader who is known for her abilities to share her vision" and "is the epitome of a team player."
Commissioner Jim Henry and Kathy May-Martin, Coldwell Banker, presented the highest honor of the night - Distinguished Service - to Dr. Chris Whaley, Roane State Community College, for not only his impressive background, but also his support and leadership in Boy Scouts of America, Roane County Full Metal Jackets, East Tennessee Economic Council Board, Roane Chamber Board, and The Roane Alliance Board.

The banquet was sponsored by Roane State Foundation, the Title Sponsor; and the following Gold Sponsors:  EnergySolutions, Omni Visions, UT Battelle/ORNL, Coldwell Banker/Jim Henry and Associates, and CNS Consolidated Nuclear Services/Y-12.
To read more about the winners accomplishments and view more photos from the evening visit

The Chamber is a partner organization under The Roane Alliance – Roane County's economic development organization. Other partners who operate under the Alliance umbrella with the Chamber include the Industrial Development Board and the Visitor's Bureau.  To learn more about how the Roane Alliance promotes economic development and seeks increased opportunities for all Roane County citizens, please visit

Scroll To Top